managing director at Ecobliss

UBM recognized the contributions of several individuals to the Indian pharmaceutical industry alongside the CPHI Pharma Awards in Mumbai, which were contested in various fields by major pharma companies. Close to 350 chief executive officers and operational heads took part in the award ceremonies, which were inaugurated by Maharashtra State Cabinet Minister for Industries, Subhash Desai.

The UBM awardees were – Dr Kiran Mazumdar Shaw, chairman and managing director of Biocon — Woman entrepreneur and inspiring leader of the decade; Sudhanshu Pandey, IAS, Ministry of Commerce and Industries for outstanding contribution for pharmaceutical exports; Chakravarthi AVPS, managing director, Ecobliss India for outstanding contribution for the pharma packaging sector; SV Veerramani, former president IDMA4, for being the pharma crusader of the year; and Dr Ajit Dangi, president and chief executive officer of Danssen Consulting, who was given the Lifetime Achievement award.

Accepting the award, Chakravarthi said, “This is the first ever time a packaging professional is honoured on this pharmaceutical platform and the recognition is also a great honour to the packaging industry, considering the elite list of awardees.”

He added, “The pharmaceutical packaging is more critical and challenging than many others as it requires a high degree of attention because of the simple fact that the products are highly sensitive and potent. The packaging has to safeguard the drug efficacy all through the supply chain gamut and till the end of its expiry, as well. This has become even more critical because of the increasing demands to meet regulatory requirements. At the same time, pharma packaging industry has really evolved from traditional methods to a patient centric approach. Thanks to all in the packaging industry who contributed to helping him win this award.”

Packaging South Asia — resilient, growing and impactful — daily, monthly — always responsive

The multi-channel B2B in print and digital 17-year-old platform matches the industry’s growth trajectory. The Indian, South Asian, Southeast Asian, and Middle East packaging industries are looking beyond the resilience of the past three years. They are resuming capacity expansion and diversification, with high technology and automation in new plants and projects.

As we present our 2024 publishing plan, India’s real GDP growth for the financial year ending 31 March 2024 will exceed 6%. The packaging industry growth will match the GDP growth in volume terms and surpass it by at least 3% in terms of nominal growth allowing for price inflation in energy, raw materials, consumables, and capital equipment.

The capacity for flexible film manufacturing in India increased by 45% over the past four years. With orders in place, we expect another 20% capacity addition in 2024 and 2025. Capacities in monocartons, corrugation, aseptic liquid packaging, and labels are growing similarly. As the consumption story returns over the next six months, we expect demand to return and exceed the growth trajectory of previous years. The numbers are positive for most of the economies in the region – and as shown by our analytics, our platform increasingly reaches and influences these.

For responsible and sustainable packaging, with its attendant regulations and compliances, there is significant headroom to grow in India and the region. Our coverage includes the entire packaging supply chain – from concept to shelf and to waste collection, sorting, and recycling.

We target brand owners, product managers, raw material suppliers, packaging designers and converters, and recyclers. This is a large and complex canvas – the only thing that can work is your agile thinking and innovation together with our continuous learning and persistence.

The coming year looks to be an up year in this region, and this is the right time to plan your participation and marketing communication – in our rich and highly targeted business platform with human resources on the ground. Share your thoughts and plans to inspire and mobilize our editorial and advertising teams!

For editorial [email protected] — for advertisement [email protected] and for subscriptions [email protected]

– Naresh Khanna (25 October 2023)

Subscribe Now
unnamed 1


Subscribe to our Newsletter


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here